Prof Jeffrey Braithwaite recognised as outstanding health leader

Thursday, October 28, 2021

The Australian Healthcare and Hospitals Association (AHHA) has today announced it will award the 2021 Sidney Sax medal for outstanding contributions to the development and improvement of Australia’s healthcare system to leading health services and systems researcher and Founding Director, Australian Institute of Health Innovation at Macquarie University, Professor Jeffrey Braithwaite.

‘Professor Braithwaite is a world-renowned researcher who has dedicated his career to improving the delivery and safety of the Australian healthcare system and the experiences of patients and providers within the system,’ says AHHA Chief Executive John Gregg.

‘This is demonstrated through his role in contributing to the establishment of the largest health services research institute in Australia, the Australian Institute of Health Innovation.

‘With over 679 refereed publications, Professor Braithwaite has been an influential figure in shaping the quality and safety of Australia's healthcare system.

‘He has also made significant contributions to researching the culture and structure of acute settings, leadership, management and change in health sector organisations, patient safety, accreditation and the impact of restructuring of health services.

‘Professor Braithwaite is well-known internationally for his role in providing the research evidence to improve care for both adults and children, and fundamental principles for the governance of health systems. His work on health reform across the world, and in new models to provide care more safely, is used in many countries and health systems.

‘He is recognised by his colleagues as an inspirational teacher and mentor, having trained large cohorts of health professionals in leadership and management.’

He is a Fellow of the Australasian College of Health Service Management (ACHSM), a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences (FAAHMS) and an Honorary Fellow of the Royal Australasian College of Medical Administrators (RACMA).

His work has been recognised internationally through appointments as President of the International Society for Quality in Health Care (ISQua), Fellow in the distinction grade at the Faculty of Public Health, Royal College of Physicians, United Kingdom (FFPH, RCP) and Fellow of the Academy of Social Sciences, United Kingdom (FAcSS).

‘The Sidney Sax medal is recognition of Professor Braithwaite’s work and the lasting impact he has had on the health and wellbeing of Australians,’ said Mr Gregg.

The 2021 Sidney Sax medal will be presented at a virtual ceremony on 16 November 2021. Professor Braithwaite will present at this event. Registration details are available online.

The Australian Healthcare and Hospitals Association is the national peak body for public and not-for-profit hospitals, Primary Health Networks, and community and primary healthcare services.

Media enquiries:  John Gregg, Chief Executive, AHHA

0410 931 460